Writer Needs help

Description of your first forum.

Writer Needs help

Postby cdillon » Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:15 pm

Sir:

This note is a long shot. I'm a freelance writer working on a book that touches on a famous federal case from the mid-to-late 1940s: the Hesse Crown Jewel theft, and I'm looking for someone who might be familiar with the part of the story that took place in Chicago. It's old news now but at the time, it was an international sensation.

During the U.S. Army's investigation, one of the thieves, Col. Jack W. Durant, said that his attempts to sell the stolen jewels in the U.S. included a deal with what he described as an underworld figure in Chicago. Durant, under pressure, said he would try to get them back. He recovered some, but the largest ones weren't among them. The Army apparently didn't pursue things beyond that point; it proved Durant had help steal the jewels, and he was court-martialed. U.S. Customs in Chicago was involved in the effort, but I've been unable as yet to find any record of a subsequent investigation.